Sherlock Unlocked

I read THIS article, of which the following part caught my attention:

To give the reader a better feel for the differences in thinking among the three ability levels, imagine the three detectives from Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes: Inspector Lestrade, Dr.Watson and Sherlock Holmes himself. Analytical Inspector Lestrade would solve the case step by step with concrete evidence. Dr. Watson would appreciate clues which had obvious and non-obvious connections to one another and synthesize abstract clues. Sherlock Holmes would find and generate clues which he could hypothetically integrate to solve a crime. Holmes was an interesting mixture of brilliant analytical skills and synthetic ability which enabled him to perceive the minutest details, assign proper weight to each, and to integrate these into a large-scale picture of the entire situation. For us, Inspector Lestrade is of normal intellectual ability, Dr. Watson is of the moderately gifted level, and Holmes is extremely gifted.

And that got me into watching the two movies (2009 and 2011) with Robert Downey Jr. playing Sherlock Holmes, and the BBC series Sherlock, with Benedict Cumberbatch as the great detective. I had never before read anything about Sherlock Holmes, but I was immediately hooked. His remarks, his actions, his way of thinking, his intuition, his clairvoyance, the speed of his thinking,… It is so recognizable to me! Yes, I am also extremely gifted. And no, that doesn’t mean that everything comes easy to me.

A small comparison between normal IQ, gifted, and extremely gifted:

comparison

 

Being gifted doesn’t mean you don’t have to work to excell, on the contrary. Extremely gifted people very often feel misunderstood. They do everything in a different way, and not as they are supposed to do. They have to fight very hard to prove their ways and theories right. They have very little in common with normal ability people, but because those are the mayority, gifted people (not only the extreme ones) are asked to adapt (or do it without realizing). But it is a bit like the story of the ugly duckling: no matter how hard he tries to be a normal duckling, he’s stil recognized as the odd one out, and everybody just turns his back on him.

Finding out I am that ‘odd one out’ was quite comforting for me. It was the confirmation of the feeling that I really am different from everyone else. I somehow found the motivation to keep living, thinking, and working in my own special way, in the hope that someday I will get recognition. It is not always easy to hold your ground when nobody seems to have faith in you. Some days I’m so depressed I think that maybe I’m wrong after all, and I’m not special at all; that I can’t do anything right. I keep thinking that before I had less sad days, but in the end, there are still many good days, and they are even better than before, more natural. I decided that in my own life I won’t adapt anymore (only in superficial social relationships), make myself believe that I’m just like anyone else. Because I’m not. I’m like Sherlock Holmes.

Categories: Psychology | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sherlock Unlocked

  1. Reblogged this on Framework 21.

  2. Pingback: Types of thinking (diagram) | Framework 21

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

