My favorite things

It was one of those days that I had no interest at all in studying for my history. I’d actually had a stress headache for three days in a row. Yesterday before my technology class I was abusing the conservatory’s internet connection to listen to the audio examples for the exam. I was also reading the paper on my laptop at the same time when this came up:

Viderunt Omnes by Pérotin, the first important composer of the École de Notre Dame de Paris. But the first thing that came into my mind was: Steive Reich, Proverb. And indeed, the Wikipedia page about Pérotin mentions that Reich (and Proverb in particular) was influenced by Pérotin. See for yourself:

By the way, I also enjoyed the similarities between my former and my current music history teacher: they both can’t write without spelling mistakes and typo’s….

Categories: Music | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

